You Are Here: Home > Course List > Cal/OSHA Compliance Courses > Cal/OSHA Sexual Harassment Prevention for Employees
Menu
BBB Accrediated Business. BBB A+ Rating. Click for Review.Trustpilot 4 and a half Star Rating. Click to read the Trustpilot Reviews

Cal/OSHA Sexual Harassment Prevention Training for Employees

Sexual Harassment poster

Senate Bill 1343 (SB 1343) Online Training & Certification Course

from the highest rated and most trusted online training company - since 2008.

With this mandatory sexual harassment prevention training for all employees in nearly all businesses, the hope is to improve awareness and prevent incidents of sexual harassment in the workplace. Proper preventative training can help decrease incidents of sexual harassment, and training on the correct actions to take when harassment occurs can help create a safer, more welcoming workplace. This course will help you understand your rights and prepare you for how to take action, should an incident occur.

Sign Up Now

$19.95 per student   (1-3)

$18.95 per student   (4-7)

$17.95 per student   (8-12)

$16.95 per student   (13-20)

$15.95 per student   (21+)

How Many Students? 

Who Is Taking This Course?

Yourself
Select if you are purchasing this course to take yourself. It will automatically be assigned to you.

Yourself & Others
Select if you are purchasing more than one of this course for both yourself and others. One will be assigned to you automatically, and you can assign the remainder at any time after you have completed the purchase.

Others
Select if you are purchasing one or more of this course for others. You can assign them at any time after you have completed the purchase.
 

Need it SCORM compliant? Contact Us

What are the governing regulations?
This online course satisfies the training requirements for the Cal/OSHA Senate Bill 1343 (SB 1343) Sexual Harassment Prevention Training

Who must take this training?
Mandatory sexual harassment prevention training has been a requirement in California since 2005, which is when Assembly Bill 1825 (signed by the Governor of California, Arnold Schwarzenegger, in 2004) went into effect. On January 1, 2019, another law went into effect that changed the parameters of sexual harassment prevention training. California Senate Bill 1343 (SB 1343) requires sexual harassment prevention training for businesses with five or more employees. It extends to all employees (full-time, part-time, and temporary employees or independent contractors), not just supervisors.

Other Frequently Asked Questions

Click to Learn More What are the consequences of not training?


Case Study: Robert Filner was a San Diego, California, mayor from December 2012 to August 2013. He resigned from his position after many women (including a Colorado congresswoman) came forward with sexual harassment allegations and filed a lawsuit. Filner asked the City of San Diego to pay for his legal fees; the city refused. In return, the city voted to sue Filner.Filner pleaded guilty to three criminal counts (one felony false imprisonment count and two misdemeanor battery charges) and faced up to five years in prison. He reached a plea deal and was given three months of house arrest, three years of probation, and loss of some of his mayoral pension.

Key Takeaway: This section uses the term "liability" often. Filner's case illustrates exactly what this may mean: lawyer fees that supervisors must take on themselves, and potential prison sentences if they are found guilty of their allegations.

Click to Learn More Course topics.

Specific topics covered in this course include:

  • About This Course
  • Course Objectives
  • Introduction to Sexual Harassment in the Workplace
    • Definitions and Key Terms
    • Defining Sexual Harassment - California vs. Federal Law
    • California Law and the Fair Employment and Housing Act
    • Federal Law
    • Examples of Sexual Harassment
    • EEOC Examples of Sexual Harassment Misconduct
    • California Senate Bill 1343 Requirements
    • Ongoing Training Requirements per California Senate Bill 1343
  • Types of Sexual Harassment
    • Quid Pro Quo Sexual Harassment
    • Hostile Environment Sexual Harassment
    • Offensive - Nonsexual - Conduct
    • Severe Conduct
    • Pervasive Conduct
    • Staring, Sniffing, Leering, and Other Actions
    • Images and Messages
    • Obscenities
    • Constructive Discharge
    • Sexual Favoritism
    • Examples of Hostile Environment Sexual Harassment - Other Potential Situations
    • Establishing that Sexual Harassment Occurred
  • Sexual Harassment Liability, Prevention, and Policies
    • Employer Liability
    • Supervisor Liability
    • Harassment and Discrimination Prevention Policy Requirements
    • Summary of Employer Sexual Harassment Prevention Obligations
  • Resolving Workplace Harassment (Complaint and Investigation Procedures)
    • Employer Responsibilities Related to Sexual Harassment
    • Employee Responsibilities Related to Sexual Harassment
    • Harassment Prevention Policies
    • Filing a Sexual Harassment Complaint at the Workplace
    • Filing a Sexual Harassment Complaint through the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) or EEOC
    • Time Constraints for Filing Complaints
    • Harassment Investigation Procedures
    • Interim Actions
    • Harassment Retaliation
    • Retaliation for Meritless Claims
  • Summary
  • Additional Resources
  • Exam
Click to Learn More Course format.

Our Cal/OSHA Sexual Harassment Training course for Employees consists of content, graphics, audio, self-check non-scored questions, and a final exam.

Click to Learn More How long is the course?

It will take a MINIMUM of 1 hour to complete this online course. The student may log on and off as needed. A bookmark will be set so when they log back in they will return to where they left off.

Click to Learn More How long do I have to complete this course?

We have no restrictions on how long a person takes to complete a course.

Likewise, if you are purchasing for others, we have no time limit on assigning courses. So you can purchase a larger quantity then you currently need and take advantage of volume discounts.

Click to Learn More How often is retraining or recertification required?

Ongoing Training Requirements per California Senate Bill 1343

  1. Training must take place within the first six months of being hired or promoted.
  2. Training must then take place every two years after the initial training.
  3. Seasonal employees, temporary employees, or other employees hired to work for six months or less must undergo training within 30 days of being hired or within working 100 hours (whichever comes first)
  4. If temporary employees are provided by a temporary services agency, the temporary services agency must provide the sexual harassment prevention training.
Click to Learn More How soon is the certificate of completion issued?

Upon successful completion each student will have immediate access to a Cal/OSHA Sexual Harassment Prevention Safety Training printable certificate and wallet card.

Click to Learn More Continuing education credits?

Each student will receive 0.1 CEUs (or 1 CMEs) from Compliance Training Online® for completing this course.

Click to Learn More Additional related courses I may wish to purchase.

accessibility icon